Parity Report For

Federal Government

Below you will find recent actions related
to parity at the federal level.

Parity is about fairness. Americans with behavioral health conditions often have more difficulty getting the treatment and services they need when compared to individuals seeking other medical care. Explore parity-related information at the Federal level regarding legislation, statutes, and regulatory actions since the Federal Parity Law was passed in 2008.

Statutory Overview

There are two federal laws that have significant implications for parity: the Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act of 2008 (known as the Federal Parity Law ) and the Affordable Care Act (ACA). The Federal Parity Law built upon an older, less extensive federal law, and the ACA has expanded the scope of the Federal Parity Law. There is also pending legislation in Congress that could amend the Federal Parity Law.

Learn more about Federal Statutes

Regulatory Overview

The federal agencies responsible for enforcing the Federal Parity Law are the Department of Labor (DOL), the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), and the Department of the Treasury (DoT). These agencies issued a final rule on the federal law in November of 2013. The Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services (CMS) Issued a proposed rule on the federal law regarding Medicaid managed care organizations (MCOs), Medicaid alternative benefit plans (benchmark and benchmark equivalent plans), and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP).

Learn more about Federal Regulations

State Parity Reports

View the state parity reports to learn about legislation, regulation, and litigation related to parity implementation

State Parity Reports

Get Support

The Parity Implementation Coalition

Common Violations

In seeking care or services, be aware of the common ways parity rights can be violated.

Common Violations